Author Topic Options
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Toronto Maple Leafs

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:04 am

Hi guy's.

My wife and I want to move out West.

We currently live in the armpit of Ontario with it's two seasons. Being born in Northern England we would like to welcome back the four seasons seen in England and Western Canada...rain and all. I currently work in IT.

Need some advice as to where in BC to move to. Don't want to live in Vancouver itself. We have been told it's much more expensive to live in BC, although I think that would depend on exact location.

Please would the left coast people chime in with your views.

We would prefer to hear from the horses mouth (so as to speak).

Thank in advance.

Frank (sweating in Ontario) W.

CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:41 am

Come to Victoria, the weather's nice. We get half the rain Vancouver does and it's cheaper, though still expensive. My wife says there's lots of work here, people are still coming here and finding work. I'm in the military so I don't see this - I have to take her word for it.

Our winters are grey and dreary, I prefer the snow and the sunny winters of Saskatchewan. After four months of grey and rain, I'm ready to remove the teeth of anyone who says, "at least we don't have to shovel it."

And for planning purposes: Winter in Victoria falls on a wednesday this year.

CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Toronto Maple Leafs

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:55 am

I used to have a friend in Victoria who recently moved. His email and address etc have changed and I cannot locate him. My wife would jump at the chance to live on Vancouver island. I need to find work out west before we move.

Thanks for the reply

Regards Frank (still sweating) W.

CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Toronto Maple Leafs

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 11:44 am

lily lily: