Login 
canadian forums
bottom

Canadian Forums

Author Topic Options
PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 6:06 pm

I am currently in my first year of university and am looking to join the Canadian armed forces Reserves. I am thinking about a military career once I have completed my degree but am still not 100% certain so I thought reserves would give me a good understanding.I have a couple questions / looking for advice from anyone who knows the process:

First, I am from Toronto I heard it is a good idea to pick a reserve unit that is close to your home so I have looked into it a bit and have come across the 48th highlanders Infantry reserves.I want to do infantry and was wondering are the quality of all units basically identical? does anyone have any advice on what unit to choose over others, I really would hate to get stuck in a unit that I find out afterward gets the shit end of the stick.

Next, I have read the "how to join" on the reserves website and forces.ca and am a bit confused. One tells me to go check out the local armory of the specific unit I want to join and the other tells me to go directly to a recruitment center could anyone clarify how I would go about joining?.

Next, How physically fit do I need to be? I consider myself in decent shape although since arriving at school making it to the gym routinely has been tough. Anyone have a basic outline of what I should be able to do when I show up on day one?

Next, does school take precedent? it is one weekend every month but what about exam months if that weekend fell right before an exam I was supposed to be studying for is it possible to skip / re-schedule a weekend when school gets in the way

Lastly, for anyone who has been in a university at the same time as maintaining a part-time reserves job is there any advice you would give?

Much thanks to anyone who can answer some of these questions it is appreciated.

CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks

GROUP_AVATAR

GROUP_AVATAR