Login 
canadian forums
bottom

Canadian Forums

Author Topic Options
Forum Elite
Forum Elite
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:54 pm

Ok guys, some of you asked for something original rather than just reactionary. Here is an idea I've been pushing for many years. I submitted it as a policy resolution; it got through the provincial association and will appear at the national biennial convention this year. ( XD ) Most Liberals who know me will have heard about this, but most from outside Manitoba will not. Although I have tried to get it into the Liberal platform, I didn't get that far.

I raised this issue here a couple years ago, but rather than resurecting a 3-year-old discussion thread, I'm creating this one.

------
Yup, I said abolish income tax. By that I mean federal personal income tax.

Summary:
  • Cut spending to restore the $17.1 billion surplus. Paul Martin did it before, we can do it again.
  • Apply all that surplus to the principle of the debt, set the total of the principle plus interest payments as a fixed total. That's how the mortgage of a house works. If we started this in January 2006 it would have been finished in 16 years.
  • Since the total debt payment will remain fixed, the budget will remain balanced even in a severe recession.
  • The deficit for 2011 is deeper than ever in Canadian history. The debt now equals its all-time high. Not only are the last 5 years a waste of time, we're farther behind.
  • Increase GST back to 7%, and at the same time cut personal income tax by 2% in every income bracket. 2% up, 2% down: you pay income tax on all your income but only pay GST on some things, so this is a tax cut. Pay for that by also undoing the 1% cut to corporate income tax.
  • Both corporate capital tax and corporate surtax stay gone.
  • Replace the GST Rebate (CRA calls it GST Credit) with a line item tax credit on income tax, but double the amount. Prorate to income tax withholding from each and every paycheque.