CKA Forums
Login 
canadian forums
bottom
 
 
Canadian Forums

Author Topic Options
Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Boston Bruins
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6578
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 8:31 pm
 


I have a problem. We have two computers and in the last few months, our internet connection here has been on and off slow or fast on both computers. Sometimes it disappears all together. We have a high-speed cable internet connection with Shaw. Let me also note that we know it's not a computer problem, they run just fine, no viruses or spyware. We've called Shaw numerous times and even gotten one of their updated modems, things were a bit better for a while but the problem still exists. We've done many speed tests but the results are inconsistent. They (Shaw) claim it is our router that is causing the slowness.

Right now we have a NETGEAR 54 Mbps Wireless Router WGR614 v4. We've had this one for at least two and half years. Is it possible that it is just old now? Out of date? Maybe it's time for a new one? And if so, what is a good brand?

I obviously don't know a lot about routers, etc. but any help or advice would be appreciated.


Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
Profile
Posts: 32460
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:52 pm
 


I have Shaw too and I think it's been slower in the last couple of months. When I do online gaming my Ping is way higher than it was before I ditched they're cable TV and got a dish. I've called them about it and they do the test and say it looks good. I talked to a few people "in the know" and they think the filter resistor on my line (which is what blocks you from viewing ALL the channels) is interfering with my internet.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Boston Bruins
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6578
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 11:59 pm
 


Same with when I'm in a trivia room, my ping isn't very good. Not like it should be anyways...


Offline
CKA Moderator
CKA Moderator
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 15030
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:01 am
 


Yeah, the router can crap out. Try leasing a new one for a day and see if it makes a difference.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Boston Bruins
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6578
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 12:04 am
 


I didn't know you could lease them. Where from?


Offline
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
 Calgary Flames
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 993
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:19 am
 


canucker wrote:
I have a problem. We have two computers and in the last few months, our internet connection here has been on and off slow or fast on both computers. Sometimes it disappears all together. We have a high-speed cable internet connection with Shaw. Let me also note that we know it's not a computer problem, they run just fine, no viruses or spyware. We've called Shaw numerous times and even gotten one of their updated modems, things were a bit better for a while but the problem still exists. We've done many speed tests but the results are inconsistent. They (Shaw) claim it is our router that is causing the slowness.

Right now we have a NETGEAR 54 Mbps Wireless Router WGR614 v4. We've had this one for at least two and half years. Is it possible that it is just old now? Out of date? Maybe it's time for a new one? And if so, what is a good brand?

I obviously don't know a lot about routers, etc. but any help or advice would be appreciated.




Dump the router, and dont replace it with another netgear. They are garbage. I've had good luck with the Dlink


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Edmonton Oilers
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6932
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:28 am
 


Regina wrote:
I have Shaw too and I think it's been slower in the last couple of months. When I do online gaming my Ping is way higher than it was before I ditched they're cable TV and got a dish. I've called them about it and they do the test and say it looks good. I talked to a few people "in the know" and they think the filter resistor on my line (which is what blocks you from viewing ALL the channels) is interfering with my internet.


Hmmm I have Shaw also, 1 computer and same problem. Anywhere from slow to losing the connection completely, had a tech guy here Tuesday and said nothing was wrong with the cable.


Offline
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 887
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:34 am
 


hm....i have no problem with shaw's service....but i can see how a filter might clog things up a bit.....

canucker, did you ever get a voip phone? sometimes we notice a slight change in speed/connection if we are using the phone, cable, and internet at the same time....this is new since we got the voip, but very rare.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Boston Bruins
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6578
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:40 am
 


usababe wrote:
canucker, did you ever get a voip phone? sometimes we notice a slight change in speed/connection if we are using the phone, cable, and internet at the same time....this is new since we got the voip, but very rare.


No I went with Shaw's digital phone. It's not connected to the internet modem, it has it's own and so far so good. I like paying one bill per month for the phone, internet, and cable.


Offline
Forum Addict
Forum Addict
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 887
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:44 am
 


hm....well, the router could be damaged....maybe got too hot or zapped by power surge. personally, i like netgear, but dlink is good too.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Boston Bruins
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6578
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 7:46 am
 


I was thinking it might be that as well because it does get pretty hot at times.

Keep the advice coming if you have it, but thanks to everyone who added their opinions. :)


Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
Profile
Posts: 32460
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:08 am
 


I may be a bit more sensitive to Shaw's internet performance since I've seen my Ping rise after dumping their cable TV. For the most part it's okay but looses connection from time to time.....possibly like all the others? The cable into my house from the box is only about 5 years old, it was replaced after having problems with the signal for the TV.

The way it works is that Shaw has it's full signal going into their "box" where it is then split and sent to everyone's house in that block. Which mean that it has all the channels available to that point. When you order the viewing package you like from them, a guy from Shaw goes to the box and inserts the appropriate filter/resistor in your line. These filters look like the "male to male" connection you would use if you're extending one section to another. The only difference is that in the middle of each filter there's a coloured stripe which identifies to the installer it's level of viewing. The higher the resistor the less channels you can view, which I think can also effect your internet........at least that's what I've seen happen with my Ping since dumping Shaw cable and going to a dish.
Another thing that can happen is that when you dump their TV cable but keep their internet, is that you can still view stations up to channel 20. This is common, but not in my case. Which makes me think the filter I have is too strong and it's messing with my Ping.

As far as routers go, I have a 4 port wireless Linksys and haven't had any problems.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Boston Bruins
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 6578
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 8:12 am
 


Interesting. Currently I have quite alot of channels and their digital TV box (with digital channels). What about their digital home phones? They have a separate modem for them, but could that affect my connection?


Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
Profile
Posts: 32460
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 9:20 am
 


I don't know anything about their phone system or how it works. If it all comes in on one cable there may be a small effect on the signal?? A good way to think of electrical wire is to imagine it's a hose with water passing through it. At some point you need a thicker hose to transport more water.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 15906
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 11:09 am
 


A few things I can think of:

Are your PC's on the same floor? If not, try angling the antennas a bit.
Is there anything between your PC's that could interrupt the signal (ie. masonry)?

I have Shaw home phone as well and I've only noticed a marginal difference on internet speed, notably a higher ping when I'm playing (and sucking at) BF2.


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests




 
     
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Canadaka.net. Powered by © phpBB.