CKA Forums
Login 
canadian forums
bottom
 
 
Canadian Forums

Author Topic Options
Offline
CKA Moderator
CKA Moderator
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 33868
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 5:24 am
 


I've always used Thermaltake, Cooler Master, and especially Antec. It's hard to get a dud.

BTW, HP Charges upwards of $300 for their 250w supplies. Pricey, but they will also run for years without a blip, 99/100 times. ;)


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 9035
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 9:00 am
 


Living in a town with 3 sawmills and a biomass powerplant that kicks in irregularly, I can assure you that an HP power supply won't last 2 seconds longer than any other brand. Only ones I ever ordered for the old store were because they were oddball sized for HPs.
Quote:
I've always used Thermaltake, Cooler Master, and especially Antec. It's hard to get a dud.



True


Offline
CKA Moderator
CKA Moderator
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 33868
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 9:11 am
 


herbie wrote:
Living in a town with 3 sawmills and a biomass powerplant that kicks in irregularly, I can assure you that an HP power supply won't last 2 seconds longer than any other brand. Only ones I ever ordered for the old store were because they were oddball sized for HPs.


I'm talking Blade Chassis level stuff. The chassis contains 8-16 small power supplies, designed to be redundant. Power is fed through a UPS and power conditioning and filtering system, backed with a 100KW Diesel generator. There are no spikes or brownouts. :)


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23760
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 9:35 am
 


DrCaleb wrote:
I've always used Thermaltake, Cooler Master, and especially Antec. It's hard to get a dud.

Yep never really had any issues with those guys either. And of course, almost any mid-high range seasonic is basically bombproof.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 15904
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 5:08 pm
 


So I went and got myself a nice 500Gb SSD. And damn, I should have done that a long time ago. The boot speeds are insane and the annoying problem I had staring up from sleep mode is gone.

I didn't do the partition thing Bart recommended as I've had bad experiences with that in the past. But I'll def put in another stick of Ram in the future.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 9035
PostPosted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:09 pm
 


Quote:
The boot speeds are insane

Updated my 2008 Macbook with one back around 2011 with a budget Kingston 128 GB. Came with a SATA-USB adapter and cloning software. Cloned it, swapped the drives, rebooted and almost shit myself how fast it was!


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Montreal Canadiens
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 29454
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 10:30 am
 


Questions...

I just bought a printer and wireless headphones. At home, I have a 4 year old DELL laptop, my LG cell I bought last year and a 4 or 5 year old LG TV. My cell and headphones play well together, wireless or not... but I can't get my computer and headphones to work with Bluetooth but they work when corded... can't get headphones to work with the TV with Bluetooth either but the laptop can "see" the TV. I guess I could get the TV and headphones to work corded but I'd need an adapter and a longer cord. So the most important question right now to how to get the laptop and headphones together with Bluetooth?

Another question I have is about batteries in wireless devices. If you always use those devices corded (headphones, mouse, keyboard, laptop), is it better to remove the batteries?

I'm trying to detect Bluetooth devices (phone and headphones) with the laptop right now but it doesn't seem to see them.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23760
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 10:42 am
 


raydan wrote:
Questions...

I just bought a printer and wireless headphones. At home, I have a 4 year old DELL laptop, my LG cell I bought last year and a 4 or 5 year old LG TV. My cell and headphones play well together, wireless or not... but I can't get my computer and headphones to work with Bluetooth but they work when corded... can't get headphones to work with the TV with Bluetooth either but the laptop can "see" the TV. I guess I could get the TV and headphones to work corded but I'd need an adapter and a longer cord. So the most important question right now to how to get the laptop and headphones together with Bluetooth?

Another question I have is about batteries in wireless devices. If you always use those devices corded (headphones, mouse, keyboard, laptop), is it better to remove the batteries?

I'm trying to detect Bluetooth devices (phone and headphones) with the laptop right now but it doesn't seem to see them.

Laptop:
Does it have bluetooth? (what model of laptop is it?)

TV: Ditto. How is the Laptop seeing the TV?

Removing batteries: Normally. There will be some passive drain on them, it's pretty inconsequential though.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Montreal Canadiens
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 29454
PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 11:36 am
 


Got it...

When I first turned on the headphones, they were "discoverable". After that, this isn't automatic. A bit of fiddling around... holding the sound level button to + and turning the headphones on solved the problem and the laptop connected right away. Nowhere in the Quick Start Guide do you find this but there must be a long version online with the info.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Montreal Canadiens
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 29454
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:32 pm
 


What could be causing my network "connection" problem? I have Videotron for Internet and cable. It's a shared wired connection going through a modem.

Sometimes it will just cut off and sometimes it won't connect when I open my laptop. None of the other people using it on different computers seem to have a problem. I'm not the one who set this up and it isn't my forté. It will always connect but sometimes it will take a few minutes.

Modem? My laptop? The cable? Traffic? Aliens? Psychic interference? Something else? :?


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23760
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:41 pm
 


Is it wireless? Is the modem also a router and provided by videotron?


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23760
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:46 pm
 


@ Caleb, does PIPEDA cover employee data as well?


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Toronto Maple Leafs
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 9134
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:47 pm
 


I ended up getting a 650w cooler master (bronze) PSU and a Gigabyte Vega 56 GPU


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Montreal Canadiens
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 29454
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 12:55 pm
 


Tricks wrote:
Is it wireless? Is the modem also a router and provided by videotron?

Wired, there's a d-link... I guess router... and one of these babies which would be for cable TV. I don't have a problem with the TV signal. Thing is, others don't have any problems. If the router was a fried, I guess that everybody would have a problem.

Image


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23760
PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2019 1:18 pm
 


raydan wrote:
Tricks wrote:
Is it wireless? Is the modem also a router and provided by videotron?

Wired, there's a d-link... I guess router... and one of these babies which would be for cable TV. I don't have a problem with the TV signal. Thing is, others don't have any problems. If the router was a fried, I guess that everybody would have a problem.

Image

The computer is wired directly in to the router?


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Previous  1 ... 6  7  8  9  10  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests




 
     
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Canadaka.net. Powered by © phpBB.