CKA Forums
Login 
canadian forums
bottom
 
 
Canadian Forums

Author Topic Options
Offline
CKA Elite
CKA Elite
 Montreal Canadiens


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 4140
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:34 am
 


I just bought a entirely new PC, cost me a pretty penny just for BF3. Going to max settings, should not get any lag and it's going to be sweet.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 13425
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:17 pm
 


canuckns wrote:
OK!
The flashlight needs to GO!!!
How the FRACK can you blind me with a flashlight in the middle of the day with the sun shinning bringht. I'm mean really, unless I put the flashlight right up against my eyeball. Plus my toon is wearing sunglasses! In the dark or a tunnel ok.
Not only do you have to worry about being blinded by the enemy, your own team mates blind you when then run around with thier flashlights on all the time.

I think they should to do like Doom 3 where the flashlight only has a 30-45 second charge then turns off to re-charge for about a minute.

Yeah I know people will say that thats no realistic, but running around with your flashlight on all the time (especially durning the day) is not realistic either, nor is getting blinded by it at 40' outside in broad daylight, or a sniper using a flashlight, I mean a SNIPER! really. Your a sniper and are supposed to be concealed.



Damn.

I didn't realise that all those blinding lights that kept fekin me up were flashlights.

Well you learn something new every day. But except for things like the teleporting hack, it's a good game once you get the hang of it.


Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
 Vancouver Canucks


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 9891
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:15 pm
 


I just installed a new ASUS Radeon 6950 for BF3. Hacked it to a 6970 for some extra juice and Overclocked my i7 920 to 3.6Ghz.

Now i'm getting 3DMark11: P5626 and good FPS in BF3 on high or ultra settings @ 1920*1080.

I'm ready for the full game!


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23572
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:22 pm
 


Canadaka wrote:
I just installed a new ASUS Radeon 6950 for BF3. Hacked it to a 6970 for some extra juice and Overclocked my i7 920 to 3.6Ghz.

Now i'm getting 3DMark11: P5626 and good FPS in BF3 on high or ultra settings @ 1920*1080.

I'm ready for the full game!

You bastard!

I want to build a new rig soon with an i52500k and maybe a 570. 460 with a 955 just ain't cutting it.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Montreal Canadiens


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 7900
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:23 pm
 


I always was amused at the trailer where the drone just runs into a wall.


Offline
CKA Moderator
CKA Moderator
 Vancouver Canucks


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 63685
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:48 pm
 


I might be ready for this.

Quote:
HP Pavilion Elite HPE-490t series
• Genuine Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
• Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-970 six-core [3.2GHz, 1.5MB L2 + 12MB shared L3 cache]
• FREE UPGRADE! 10GB DDR3-1066MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs] from 9GB
• FREE UPGRADE! 1.5TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive from 1TB
• No additional office software
• Norton Internet Security(TM) 2011 - 3 year
• 2GB ATI Radeon HD 5570 [DVI,HDMI, DP, VGA adapter]
• No speakers
• Blu-ray player & Lightscribe SuperMulti DVD burner
• Wireless-N LAN card
• 15-in-1 memory card reader, 1 USB, 1394, audio
• No TV Tuner
• Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
• HP USB keyboard and optical mouse


Only differences between the order and now is I added a 2TB HDD and upped the RAM to a needless 24GB.


Offline
CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite
 Montreal Canadiens


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 7900
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:53 pm
 


BartSimpson wrote:
Only differences between the order and now is I added a 2TB HDD and upped the RAM to a needless 24GB.


8O

24GB of Ram? Holy shit. I have a huge hard drive as well, but you can probably run a few copies of BF3 on 24GBs of RAM. That is awesome [drool]

Edit: Wait...NORTON? Well, everything else is awesome.


Last edited by commanderkai on Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Offline
Forum Super Elite
Forum Super Elite


GROUP_AVATAR
Profile
Posts: 2432
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:04 pm
 


BartSimpson wrote:
I might be ready for this.

Quote:
HP Pavilion Elite HPE-490t series
• Genuine Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
• Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-970 six-core [3.2GHz, 1.5MB L2 + 12MB shared L3 cache]
• FREE UPGRADE! 10GB DDR3-1066MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs] from 9GB
• FREE UPGRADE! 1.5TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive from 1TB
• No additional office software
• Norton Internet Security(TM) 2011 - 3 year
• 2GB ATI Radeon HD 5570 [DVI,HDMI, DP, VGA adapter]
• No speakers
• Blu-ray player & Lightscribe SuperMulti DVD burner
• Wireless-N LAN card
• 15-in-1 memory card reader, 1 USB, 1394, audio
• No TV Tuner
• Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
• HP USB keyboard and optical mouse


Only differences between the order and now is I added a 2TB HDD and upped the RAM to a needless 24GB.

Other than the Norton, Nice.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23572
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:21 pm
 


Might need a new card Bart.


Offline
Forum Super Elite
Forum Super Elite
 Calgary Flames
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 2453

Warnings: (20%)
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:57 pm
 


October 25th is when it comes out for PS3. I pre-ordered a copy a couple months back. DAMMIT IS IT THE 25TH YET??? IS IT????

Must....drive....tank.... [drool]

-J.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 15687
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:59 pm
 


SprCForr wrote:
Been playing the open beta since Tuesday. Don't care for rush, but for the beta, meh. They got some stuff to work out. Hit detection still sucks, weapon recoil is good. Prone is got all the COD campers all horny, but the down side is the scope reflection. Reviving takes effort. All in all, not bad. Definately going to put a stop to a lot of run and gun. Fire and Movement will be key. Multiple spawn choice is nice. The team join is still buggy. Movement is cool.

There's other stuff, but it is beta. Overall, I like.

Dr: I look at it as a reward for suffering through MoH and owning a PS3. Lol.


Me too. It feels like an early beta IMO. The collisions detection is off, as is the clipping. Animations go missing at times as do sounds.

It's still awesome though. They have to nerf the power of some of the weapons too. I keep getting sniped by the UMP at long range all the time and it's already cost me a smashed controller.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 15225
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:15 pm
 


My only regret about buying four acres and moving to a rural area is no more high speed internet. Which means no more BF2, or COD on xbox. I feel like the world is passing me by as I linger in 3g Bell internet land.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
 Vancouver Canucks
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 23572
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:22 pm
 


xerxes wrote:
SprCForr wrote:
Been playing the open beta since Tuesday. Don't care for rush, but for the beta, meh. They got some stuff to work out. Hit detection still sucks, weapon recoil is good. Prone is got all the COD campers all horny, but the down side is the scope reflection. Reviving takes effort. All in all, not bad. Definately going to put a stop to a lot of run and gun. Fire and Movement will be key. Multiple spawn choice is nice. The team join is still buggy. Movement is cool.

There's other stuff, but it is beta. Overall, I like.

Dr: I look at it as a reward for suffering through MoH and owning a PS3. Lol.


Me too. It feels like an early beta IMO. The collisions detection is off, as is the clipping. Animations go missing at times as do sounds.

It's still awesome though. They have to nerf the power of some of the weapons too. I keep getting sniped by the UMP at long range all the time and it's already cost me a smashed controller.

I got picked off long range by a g17. WTF'd on that one.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 15687
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:08 pm
 


Me too. I never realised that pistols were as effective at range as sniper rifles not to mention just as powerful. Or that pumping 20+ bullets into a guy doesn't kill them; rather it results in a headshot against you.

I've been learning a lot playing the beta.


Offline
CKA Uber
CKA Uber


GROUP_AVATAR
User avatar
Profile
Posts: 13425
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:02 pm
 


BartSimpson wrote:
I might be ready for this.

Quote:
HP Pavilion Elite HPE-490t series
• Genuine Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
• Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-970 six-core [3.2GHz, 1.5MB L2 + 12MB shared L3 cache]
• FREE UPGRADE! 10GB DDR3-1066MHz SDRAM [4 DIMMs] from 9GB
• FREE UPGRADE! 1.5TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive from 1TB
• No additional office software
• Norton Internet Security(TM) 2011 - 3 year
• 2GB ATI Radeon HD 5570 [DVI,HDMI, DP, VGA adapter]
• No speakers
• Blu-ray player & Lightscribe SuperMulti DVD burner
• Wireless-N LAN card
• 15-in-1 memory card reader, 1 USB, 1394, audio
• No TV Tuner
• Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
• HP USB keyboard and optical mouse


Only differences between the order and now is I added a 2TB HDD and upped the RAM to a needless 24GB.



Bart I never thought I'd say this to anyone.............ever. Dude that's waaaaay to much RAM. 8O

BTW I'm running the game on a NVIDIA GTS250 (a souped up 9800 GT) at medium resolution with no problems or lag so don't be to hasty about buying a new card.

I don't know about Radeon but NVIDIA has new beta drivers out just for this game which made a world of difference to the performance.


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 52 posts ]  Previous  1  2  3  4  Next



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests




 
     
All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © Canadaka.net. Powered by © phpBB.