canadian forums
bottom

Canadian Forums

Author Topic Options
Forum Super Elite
Forum Super Elite

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 5:57 pm

So after years as a retail manager I'm looking at a career change. I quit my job awhile back after saving some money and am currently working evenings for the city at the convention center.

Working evenings has freed up my time for daytime classes so I have decided to go back to school.

Now here is the question. I've been considering nursing for a long time and since both my parents are LPNs (Licensed practical nurse) I've been looking at both the RN and LPN programs.

The big question is that almost all of the salary and career data I'm finding is for the US and not Canada. Anyone out there work in the Nursing profession in Canada? I'd love to know if it's really worth the 2 extra years of school for the salary difference or if I'm better off just taking my LPN now and possibly having the government pay for the RN upgrade at a later time.

I appreciate any input. Thanks.

Jeff

CKA Super Elite
CKA Super Elite

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:01 pm

Jeff, I know this may be off train of thought, but with you already being an employee of the City, is there room for advancement or perhaps moving to a different department that you may like more?

Forum Super Elite
Forum Super Elite

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:03 pm

The health region is under the provincial government not the civic. I love my job with the city all things considered it was the retail job that truly drove me up the wall.

The problem is jobs with the city are so good no one ever quits. It's pretty rare for job openings to come along that don't require some form of trades type training which is not quite my forte. I'm a thinker and analyzer not much for working with my hands.

Still thanks for the input. :P

CKA Uber
CKA Uber
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:32 am

CanadianJeff wrote: