CKA Uber
CKA Uber

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:35 am

0:
work.jpg
work.jpg [ 75.5 KiB | Viewed 69 times ]

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/manitoba/ ... -1.2610095

There's nothing wrong with working while going to school. In fact it would likely be a good idea to make more degrees, especially professional degrees, co-op programs where students can gain some practical experience in the field they are entering.

Last edited by ShepherdsDog on Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

CKA Uber
CKA Uber
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:41 am

Absolutely. Whish they had it when I was an undergrad, was brought in just as I was finishing. But these days, those would all be unpaid internships (I've done that too, but it was a requirement for the program, so budgeted in), so not much help for paying for school. As an undergrad I found it easy to earn my year's living expenses working in logging camps over the summer. $2.50 a day cost for room and board and earn the big bucks with overtime, and you come out with a good wad of cash. I don't think that's really possible anymore.

CKA Uber
CKA Uber

GROUP_AVATAR
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:48 am

ShepherdsDog ShepherdsDog:
0:
work.jpg

There's nothing wrong with working while going to school. In fact it would likely be a good idea to make more degrees, especially professional degrees, co-op programs where students can gain some practical experience in the field they are entering.

Cetainly not - but even working as I did, I still needed a loan to pay for the full costs of university, which exploded after 1993/94 in Alberta. The only people I know who graduated debt free were the ones with scholarships up the wazoo or those who had well-paying co-op jobs (which was a crap shoot too - some guys got awesome pay and others got a few bucks over minimum wage).